Phil Lynott + Thin Lizzy – Songs For While I’m Away – Live 1978

Release date: 24/06/2022


Phil Lynott + Thin Lizzy

Songs For While I'm Away + The Boys Are Back In Town

Mercury Studios is pleased to announce a special package featuring the acclaimed documentary of Thin Lizzy frontman Phil Lynott, “Songs For While I’m Away” and Thin Lizzy “The Boys Are Back In Town Live At The Sydney Opera House October 1978” to be released on June 24. This will be available in two different formats: 2xDVD+CD and Blu-ray+DVD+CD, (with the Phil Lynott documentary being featured on Blu-ray). The Sydney concert will be on DVD and CD in both packages.


2DVD/CD, Blu-ray/DVD/CD


Release date: 24/06/2022
SKU: 4549614 Category: Tag:

Utilizing numerous songs from both the Thin Lizzy and Phil Lynott solo catalog, along with interviews with Lynott (archival), friends & family, “Songs For While I’m Away” traces Lynott’s life from growing up in 1950’s Dublin to becoming Ireland’s premiere rock star, while also gaining insight into his family life.
“Songs For While I’m Away” features interviews with his wife Caroline, daughters Sarah & Cathleen and Thin Lizzy bandmates Scott Gorham, Darren Wharton, Eric Bell & Midge Ure. Additional interviews come from James Hetfield (Metallica), Huey Lewis, Adam Clayton (U2), Suzi Quatro & more.
The concert has previously been released in a variety of forms over the years on VHS, Laserdisc and DVD. This version features cleaned up video and remixed audio from multi tracks, presenting the show in the highest quality that has been made available. Key to this version is the discovery of 5 additional performances from the concert that have never been officially available. Because there are noticeable quality differences in the visual of the original concert and the ‘lost’ tracks, they are available to view separately on the disc and also available to view in sequence with the main concert. The CD features the show in its performance order.


A feature documentary on the life and music of Phil Lynott, “Songs For While I’m Away” tells the story of how a young black boy from working class 1950’s Dublin became Ireland’s Greatest Rock Star. As lead singer of Thin Lizzy, Phil Lynott was a songwriter, a poet, a dreamer, a wild man. Told extensively through the words of Phil himself and focusing on some of his iconic songs, the film gets to the heart of Philip, the father, the husband, the friend, the son, the rock icon, the poet, the dreamer.
Thin Lizzy rocks Australia outside the famed Sydney Opera House in this October 1978 performance. The lineup, consisting of Phil Lynott, Scott Gorham, Gary Moore & Mark Nauseef, performs an array of fan favorites including Jailbreak, The Boys Are Back In Town, Bad Reputation & more. Featuring remixed audio and cleaned up picture, this show captures Thin Lizzy at the top of their game.

Format – Blu-ray/DVD/CD, 2DVD/CD

2 for £25



1. Jailbreak
2. Bad Reputation
3. Warriors
4. Don’t Believe A Word
5. Waiting For An Alibi
6. Still In Love With You
7. Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed
8. Cowboy Song
9. The Boys Are Back In Town
10. Are You Ready
11. Baby Drives Me Crazy
12. Me And The Boys


Phil Lynott – Songs For While I’m Away – 113 minute documentary.


1. Jailbreak
2. Bad Reputation
3. Waiting For An Alibi
4. Cowboy Song
5. The Boys Are Back In Town
6. Are You Ready
7. Me And The Boys
8. Baby Drives Me Crazy

Lost Sydney Performances

1. Warriors
2. Don’t Believe A Word
3. Still In Love With You
4. Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed
5. Suicide

Note: there is an option on the DVD to play the songs with the Lost Performances in the order they were performed the day of the show.


  • No products in the cart.