Gerard Wilson – Moment of Truth (Tone Poet Series)

Release date: 03/06/2022


Gerard Wilson

Moment of Truth (Tone Poet Series)

In the early 1960s, the great composer, arranger, and bandleader Gerald Wilson began recording a series of spectacular albums for Pacific Jazz that stand as the most significant of his lengthy career. Decca release the second of those albums, 1962’s Moment of Truth, features Wilson’s dynamic big band on an action-packed nine-song set (seven of which were composed by Wilson) with highlights including the swaggering blues of the title track, the irrepressible Latin groove of “Viva Tirado,” and a fleet-footed version of “Milestones” by Miles Davis.


LP (Limited Edition Deluxe Tip-on Jacket)


Release date: 03/06/2022
SKU: 602435732060 Category: Tag:

The quintet—with James Spaulding on alto saxophone and flute, Ronnie Mathews on piano, Eddie Khan on bass, and Joe Chambers on drums—moves assuredly from free-form playing and modal jazz to the blues and balladry on this five-song set of originals by Hubbard and Chambers.
This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.

2 for £25


1. Viva Tirado (SIDE A)
2. Moment Of Truth (SIDE A)
3. Patterns (SIDE A)
4. Teri (SIDE A)
5. Nancy Jo (SIDE A)
6. Milestones (SIDE B)
7. Latino (SIDE B)
8. Josefina (SIDE B)
9. Emerge (SIDE B)


  • No products in the cart.